Pickpockets aboard monorail in KL

Took the monorail to go to class this evening and as usual, it was the rush hour. Time was like about 5.45pm and there’s quite a lot of people squeezing in and out of the monorail train. Ok, BEWARE OF PICKPOCKETS IN THE MONORAIL TRAIN. You’ll see a lot of malay or indonesian guys standing near the train door, and you must beware. They are pickpockets.

Its easy to differentiate a malicious person…. ok… I know if someone is up to no good. I’m very alert when these natakaran or mat rempit-like people come near me as I was a victim of mat rempit snatch thieve sometime ago. They normally wear tshirts and quite smelly. They don’t seem to need to work hence they wear smelly casual outfits- tshirt, jeans etc. They normally operate in a group of 2-3 people so that they can disperse off easily.

There’s this guy standing right behind me and luckily I was holding my book and jacket. My hands were on both side touching my wallet with my one hand and handphone with another hand. Then suddenly a hand wander to my pocket and trying to force into my pocket. Instantly I know it was a pickpocket in operation. I looked at the guy and he pretended to look out of the window. My hand kept pressing my pocket and my book helped a bit to block the probing hand. Then I looked stared at the guy and again he pretended and looked out of the window. At the next station, he quickly left knowing his operation foiled by me.

Now… I regret for not punching him or at least alert all the other commuters. The train was packed and there were many ladies around. Now, maybe i should have a blade or something sharp handy so that I can teach these fellas a lesson.

Advice for guys: Always keep your hands in your pocket and safeguard your valuables in pockets- handphone, wallet etc. The front pockets of your trousers are easy target. Don’t talk on phone and get distracted. Be sensitive on all body contacts.

Advice for ladies: Keep everything precious in your handbag and keep your bag in front of your chest. Again, don’t talk on the phone and be sensitive on all body contacts.

One thought on “Pickpockets aboard monorail in KL

  1. If you ask me, you could have shoutted at that guy and other guy commuters on board will definitely whack that pickpocket to teach him a lesson.

    Having a blade will not solve the problem as he may pick on someone else some other time once he has recovered. If you shout, this will also create awareness to other commuters as well.

Leave a Reply

